News

5 Tweets That Explain Why Katy Perry Is the Most Followed Person on Earth

img.jpg
Spread the love

Selena Gomez may be the queen of Instagram, but Katy Perry holds court on Twitter.

According to the social media service’s 2016 Year in Review released Tuesday morning, with 94.5 million followers, the “Roar” singer is the most followed celebrity on the planet. For anyone who follows the 32-year-old pop star, this should come as no surprise. Perry, who joined the site back in January 2009, is one of the funniest tweeters out there. So in case you need a reminder, here are five tweets that prove why she’s the most followed celeb on earth:

1. She’s not afraid to be a total fangirl.

 

 

2. Even though she’s world-famous, Perry enjoys the little things … like a used pore strip on a Friday night.

 

 

3. She expertly combines popular dance moves and bodily functions.

 

 

4. She’s wise.

 

 

5. And she totally *gets* us.

 

 

RELATED: Katy Perry’s Latest ‘Gram Proves She’s the Most Relatable Pop Star Around

Twitter’s 2016 list is stuffed with interesting facts and figures. Scroll down for more details and highlights:

Most Followed Celebrities

  1. Katy Perry (@katyperry)
  2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber)
  3. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13)
  4. Rihanna (@rihanna)
  5. Lady Gaga (@gagamonster96)
  6. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow)
  7. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake)
  8. Kim Kardashian West (@KimKardashian)
  9. Britney Spears (@britneyspears)
  10. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)

Top trending topics

  1. Rio2016
  2. Election2016
  3. PokemonGo
  4. Euro2016
  5. Oscars
  6. Brexit
  7. Blacklivesmatter
  8. Trump
  9. RIP
  10. GameofThrones

Top trending Challenges

  1. #MannequinChallenge
  2. #SoGoneChallenge
  3. #RunningManChallenge
  4. #HuhChallenge
  5. #TrustFallChallenge

Top trending award shows

  1. #Oscars
  2. #Grammys
  3. #VMAs
  4. #TeenChoice
  5. #Kca
  6. #IHeartAwards
  7. #GoldenGlobes
  8. #Bbmas
  9. #Emmys
  10. #BetAwards

Top trending TV shows

  1. #GameOfThrones (Game of Thrones)
  2. #TheWalkingDead (The Walking Dead)
  3. #GreysAnatomy (Grey’s Anatomy)
  4. #DescendantsOfTheSun (Descendants of the Sun)
  5. #MasterChefbr (Masterchef Brazil)
  6. #OITNB (Orange is the New Black)
  7. #StrangerThings (Stranger Things)
  8. #Empire (Empire)
  9. #TheVoice (The Voice)
  10. #Bbb16 (Big Brother Brazil)

Top trending movies

  1. #StarWars (Star Wars)
  2. #SuicideSquad (Suicide Squad)
  3. #Deadpool (Deadpool)
  4. #HarryPotter (Harry Potter)
  5. #Batmanvsuperman (Batman vs. Superman)
  6. #CaptainAmericaCivilWar (Captain America: Civil War)
  7. #FindingDory (Finding Dory)
  8. #TheRevenant (The Revenant)
  9. #Zootopia (Zootopia)
  10. #Ghostbusters (Ghostbusters)

Most retweets (movies/TV)

  1. Leonardo DiCaprio

 

 

Top trending topics in music

  1. #Grammys
  2. #VMAs
  3. #MannequinChallenge
  4. #SoGoneChallenge
  5. #FreeKesha
  6. #Views
  7. #IHeartAwards
  8. #Lemonade
  9. #RipChristina
  10. #Exo

Top trending artists

  1. #Exo
  2. #Jimin
  3. #Prince
  4. #JustinBieber
  5. #DavidBowie
  6. #OneDirection
  7. #Bambam
  8. #Beyonce
  9. #Jin
  10. #Jungkook

Most retweets (music)

  1. Harry Styles: